Monday, March 16, 2015

Reguigui Becomes Third African Rider To Secure Overall Title In LTdL

KUALA LUMPUR, March 15 (Bernama) -- Algerian rider, Youcef Reguigui of MTN-Qhubeka became the third African rider to claim the Yellow jersey as overall winner in the Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL).

The 25-year old rider who wrested the jersey from Aussie rider Caleb Ewan of Orica GreenEdge after stage seven yesterday, was declared the winner after clocking a total of 28 hours 12 minutes and 04 seconds in the 2015 edition which ended, here Sunday.

In the final stage which stretched from Kuala Kubu Baru to Dataran Merdeka over a distance of 96.1km today, Reguigui finished in 10th place spot out of 115 riders, with a time of 2 hours and 27 minutes.

For the record, two South African riders -- Ryan Cox of Barloworld and David George of the South African national team had managed to win the yellow jersey, back to back in 1996 and 1997.

Speaking to reporters after the race, Reguigui dubbed the victory as the sweetest since it was his first win in the international tour while not ruling out to come again for the 21st edition of the race, next year.

Italian rider, Andrea Guardini of Astana Pro Team on the other hand, said he was delighted to win today's race despite failing to win the Yellow jersey in his fifth straight appearance in the tour.

The result also saw him setting a new record of 18 stage victories, including three stages victories -- Langkawi (stage one); Alor Setar-Sungai Petani (stage two) and Kota Baharu-Kuala Berang (stage four) in this year's edition.

"I'm happy because this is my fourth stage victory this year and my third time in Kuala Lumpur. It's a fantastic result," Guardini said.

Ewan who clinched the Blue Jersey as the King of Sprint in his maiden appearance of the tour said he was delighted with his achievement.

United States rider Kiel Reijnen of UnitedHealthCare Pro Cycling who retained the red jersey as the King of Mountains which he held since stage one at Langkawi, last Sunday was also a happy rider.

Japanese rider, Tomohiro Hayakawa of Aisan Racing Team on the other hand, won the white jersey as the Best Asian rider while Pegasus Continental Cycling Team of Indonesia was named Best Asian team and overall winner after clocking 84 hours 22 minutes and 01 seconds.


No comments:

Post a Comment