Thursday, March 06, 2014

Theo Bos Claims Second Victory In 2014 LTdL By Winning Longest Stage

PEKAN, March 5 (Bernama) -- Belkin-Pro Cycling Team rider Theo Bos racked up his second victory in the 2014 Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) by winning the longest stage in the race, a distance of 230.1km from Kota Tinggi to Pekan, Wednesday.

The Dutch rider powered his way to the front in a bunch sprint finish with a time of five hours, 33 minutes and 21 seconds, ahead of Lithuania's Aidis Kruopis of Orica Greenedge and Colombian Leonardo Duque of Team Colombia.

Bos and his team navigated two sharp corners in the final 500 metres with relative ease to win in Pekan, the scene of Alessandro Petacchi's first professional victory in 1998.

"In the road book it said go left with 900 metres to go and a right corner with 500 metres to go, but then we heard from the soigneurs that it was 500 and 250.

"I'm lucky that I have Brown (Graeme Brown), he's the best man in the peloton to bring me in front. He's the fastest guy in front of a sprinter. In the last corner, somebody came underneath and my front wheel slipped but luckily I was on his wheel still," he said here today.

Meanwhile, in the sprints competition today, Kruopis snatched the Blue jersey from OCBC Singapore rider Thomas Rabou from Holland after collecting 61 points while Ireland's Matt Brammeier retained his Red jersey in the mountains competition with 34 points.

Iranian rider, Mirsamad Pourseyedigolakhour from Tabriz Petrochemical Team retained the Yellow jersey as the leader in general classification and also the White jersey as the best Asian rider after accumulating 25'17:02s.

His team also lead the Asian team general classification after accumulating 75'55:31s while MTN Qhubeka topped the leader board in the general classification with a time of 75'53:53s.

Mohd Harrif Salleh of the Terengganu Cycling Team (TSG) was the best placed Malaysian rider today when he finished in 12th spot.

Tomorrow, the LTdL will continue from Kuantan to Marang, another long route with a distance of 202.2km.

The riders will ride through three sprint zones at Kemaman, Kerteh and Dungun with two climb zones at Bukit Anak Dara and Kijal.

From Zuriati Zulmi -- BERNAMA

No comments:

Post a Comment