Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Desailly Among Six Shortlisted As Harimau Malaya Head Coach

PETALING JAYA, March 11 (Bernama) - Former France captain Marcel Desailly is among six names shortlisted as head coach of the national football team, said Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) vice-president Datuk Seri Subahan Kamal.

The others are Peter Reid (former coach of Thailand), Zdenek Zeman (AS Roma), Bobby Houghton (India), David O' Leary (Aston Villa) and Fabio Lopez, the former adviser to Fiorentina.

"We want to see what they can offer as they have their own advantages. The decision is taking some time as we want the right coach. They must not only handle the national team but also work with the other coaches," he told reporters after witnessing the signing of agreement between Astro Arena and Utusan Malaysia at Wisma FAM, Kelana Jaya, here today.

Astro Arena was represented by the Business Head of Astro Sports, Lee Choong Kay while Utusan Malaysia was represented by Utusan Group Executive Director, Datuk Mohd Nasir Ali.

Under the agreement, a sports journalist of Utusan Malaysia would appear as invited guests in Astro Arena programmes while commentators from Astro Arena would share their views on football in the newspaper.

Harimau Muda A head coach Datuk Ong Kim Swee would continue to coach the national team until June before the FAM announces the new national head coach.

Subahan said the decision was made by the FAM Executive Committee (Exco) who wanted Kim Swee to focus on training young and talented players.

"I am satisfied with what Kim Swee has achieved so far. A good coach needs to work with all the players under him.

"We have to give those who applied for the job (national head coach) the chance as Kim Swee has other more important tasks. The final decision lies with the FAM Executive Committee."

Subahan also hinted that he would like to defend the vice-president's post provided he received nomination from FAM affiliate members.

The FAM 50th annual congress on May 25 will elect new Exco members for the 2014-2018 term.


No comments:

Post a Comment