Monday, February 24, 2014

Annuar Musa Hopes FAM Affiliate Members Dare To Vie For Post Of President

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 23 (Bernama) -- Kelantan Football Association (KAFA) adviser Tan Sri Annuar Musa hopes that affiliate members of the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) will have the guts to offer themselves for the post of president at the annual congress on May 25.

He said the post of FAM president could be challenged by any member of its affiliates based on the existing statute, but it did not happen because some of them were worried of being criticised if they failed to carry out their entrusted duties.

"This time around, I hope there will be the courageous from among the affiliate members. Not enough just to sigh; if there is someone capable, he should be nominated.

"Malaysian football needs a major motivation. The time has come, as we have talked about it for a long time and we have gone through much, but if we return to the same way when the selection comes around, there will be no changes."

He said this in response to a recent statement by FAM secretary-general Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin recently that they were open on the question of nominations for the post of FAM president.

Annuar was met by reporters after the launching of Kelantan Fiesta 2014 and the introduction of the AFC team jersey by Tourism and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Aziz at the foyer of the Mara Building, here, today.

Annuar, who is former FAM deputy president, said Sultan Ahmad Shah, who was still holding the post of president should make way for others capable of ensuring Malaysian football could move forward.

"To me, his contribution has been immense but as football is extremely demanding, Tuanku president himself (should be) prepared to make way for new candidates.

"He has done his level best for Malaysian football but we cannot hang on to the past," he said.

Other than the president's post, the FAM congress on May 25 will also open all top posts and 10 exco seats for contests, including two new posts for women candidates, for the 2014-2018 term.


No comments:

Post a Comment