Friday, October 11, 2013

Malaysia Gains MotoGP Extension Until 2016

SEPANG, Oct 10 (Bernama) -- The Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix took another step foward with the signing of a new contract that will see Sepang International Circuit (SIC) Sdn Bhd hosting the pinnacle event of motorcycle racing until 2016.

The Sepang International Circuit was confirmed as a permanent circuit on the MotoGP Calendar for the next three years begining next year and will host Round 15 of the 18-leg of World Motorcycle Championship.

The signing ceremony between Dorna, the exclusive commercial and television rights holder for the FIM Road Racing World Championship Grand Prix (MotoGP), and SIC was held during the South East Asian Motorcycle Business Forum at SIC Paddock Club, here today.

Dorna was represented by it's Chief Excutive Officer Camelo Ezpeleta, while SIC's chief executive officer Datuk Ahmad Razlan Ahmad Razali signed on behalf of SIC.

"The announcement of the extension could not have arrived at a better time, as SIC has been in the midst of much progress of late with the launch of the South East Asian Motorcycle Business Forum as well as the Shell Advance Asian Talent Cup (a MotoGP feeder series with Sepang Circuit appointed as the base by Dorna)," Ahmad Razlan told Bernama.

On the MotoGP extension, Ahmad Razlan noted that the Finance Ministry and SIC's Board of Directors has agreed to extend SIC organising the Malaysian MotoGP race.

"Their justification was based on increased spectatorship each year and SIC being named promoter of the year 2012 by Dorna. Also because motorcycle racing is a hit with youths," he said.

For this weekend's race, he said SIC had achived their intial target of having 80,000 spectators on race day from yesterday's ticket sales.

"We targeted to have 80,000 spectator on Sunday and we have acheived it but the number might increase towards race day as there might be last minute buyers. I believe the unprecented representation of six Malaysian riders has helped boost ticket sales," he said.

The six Malaysian riders are Muhammad Zulfahmi Khairudin in Moto3; Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Moto2), Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (Moto2 wild card); Zaqhwan Zaidi (Moto2 wild card); Amirul Hafiq Azmi and Husni Aizat Abdul Malik, both wild card riders in the Moto3 category.


No comments:

Post a Comment