Thursday, June 20, 2013

20 Teams To Vie For Honours In Tour Of Malaysia

KUALA LUMPUR, June 19 (Bernama) -- Twenty teams, including three national teams, five clubs, nine continental teams plus three local teams will be vying for honours in the Tour of Malaysia (J1M 2013) from June 26 to 30.

The Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF) deputy president Datuk Naim Mohamad said the five-day race would involve five club teams, three of them from Malaysia and another three local teams, namely Negeri Sembilan, Terengganu and the National Sports Council.

"The three National teams competing this year are Malaysia, Singapore and Bahrain," he told reporters after receiving a sponsorship pledge from Nestle Products Sdn Bhd and announcement that Milo would sponsor the Green Jersey for (Sprint King) in the JIM, here, Wednesday.

Naim said the nine continental teams are Terengganu Cycling Team (Malaysia), OCBC Singapore (Singapore), Matrix Powertag (Japan), Huon Salmon Genesys Wealth Advisers Pro Cycling (Australia), Team LBC Cycling, 7 Eleven (Philippines), CCN Cycling Team (Brunei), Team Baku Cycling Project (Azerbaijan) and Polygon Sweet Nice (Ireland).

The five clubs teams are Putra Perjuangan Bandung, Custom Cycling Club (Indonesia), Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM), Police (PDRM) and Corbusier (Sarawak).

The race to be held over a total distance of 856km would feature five stages and start from the National Sports Complex in Bukit Jalil to Rembau (Stage 1) over a distance of 187.7km, followed by Rembau-Batu Pahat (197.6km), Batu Pahat-Pontian (94.7km), Plaza Angsana Johor Baharu-Melaka (206.3km) and Melaka-Putrajaya (169.8km).

Naim hoped local riders would be able to excel in the tour to lift Malaysian cycling to a different level.


No comments:

Post a Comment